Writing and the 6 a.m. brain

Call of the Siren

Southern California dawn; credit: Jessie EastlandSouthern California dawn; photo credit: Jessie Eastland

Every writer has a different time of day that works for creative writing.

As I retool my novel and prepare to cast it back into the marketplace, I realize why working early in the morning has been the best choice for me.

As the day progresses, bad things happen to my brain.

My thoughts become too logical, too careful, too focused on making everything precise and accurate.

Accuracy isn’t always at the heart of the best creative writing. In the early morning, while this critical side is still groggy, my creative side has a chance to work unhindered … at least for a little while.

View original post 186 altre parole

Rispondi

